Home > loney dear > NEW ARTIST ALERT: Loney, Dear.

NEW ARTIST ALERT: Loney, Dear.

Loney, Dear is a band I first heard tell of a few months ago, when a friend of mine returned from a concert where they played and proceeded to spill their praises all over my rug. I wrote them down, intending to look them up, but when life intervened and got busy my Post-It note got lost in the shuffle. Imagine my surprise and utter delight when I get a present from that same friend: the entire album, just for me! Now I can do what I do best — deliver these wonders straight to your ears.

Loney, Dear

Loney, Dear is the pseudonym of Swedish singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Emil Svanängen. He has self-released four albums of music in his native Sweden. His first major release came in February, 2007 in the U.S. when Sub Pop re-issued his latest album Loney, Noir. His latest release, Dear John, premiered in January of 2009. (wikipedia)

That same friend who recommended this to me described the music as “the sounds after a long bout of crying.” (I’m sorry, if you’re reading, if I phrased that wrong.) That’s exactly it. They’re still aching with sadness and trying to figure out how to survive somewhere where this sort of thing (whatever sadness, I suppose) can happen, but there’s still such optimism underneath. Loney, Dear may be lonely, yes, but they are clouds. Eventually, the grey passes.

myspacelast.fm
buy Dear John on amazon
“Airport Surroundings”
“Harm/Slow”

Categories: loney dear Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

